Duke of Edinburgh Award

Awards and Success

About The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award

The Duke of Edinburgh is one of the most prestigious international award programmes for students 14 years of age and above. Participants design their own programme based on three key areas: Community Service, Physical Recreation and Personal Skills. The Award is divided into three stages: Bronze, Silver, and Gold, each having a set of requirements to fulfill. Students will also complete an adventurous journey as part of the award. Despite the award being non-competitive and voluntary in nature, it challenges participants to set, as well as reflect, on authentic and progressive goals relating to their own personal growth. Taking part in the international award will allow students engage with their environment and interact with other societies.

GEMS FirstPoint School as Independent Award Centre (IAC)

GEMS FirstPoint School is an official licensed Independent Award Centre (IAC) for The Duke of Edinburgh International Award. As a result, students have the opportunity to take part in The Duke of Edinburgh’s award at FirstPoint School, promoting FPS as an avenue for creating life-long learners through authentic experiences and continued application of academic excellence in society.

For information about The Award at GEMS FirstPoint School, please contact Mr Patrick Ahern, p.ahern[email protected] – DofE, International Award Coordinator

For more details about the programme, please click here 

Licence Certificate

GEMS FirstPoint School is proud to have received the Independent Award Centre Licence for 2020 - 2021.


More To Explore

Next Steps